Pattern testing: LOL swing top

It was one of them moments when an email notification pops up, I let out a squeeee and pranced around the house like a small child! The words ‘you’re in!’ sent from Jenn, blogger at A Jennuine Life and designer behind Jennuine Designs, meant just one thing, I was one of the very very lucky ladies to be testing her latest pattern the LOL Swing Top. Sneak peeks from Jenn popped up on Instagram and straight away I knew I needed to sew it (#LOLSwingTop if you want a nosey!). Pattern testing started, I made my first and from then on I was completely hooked (seriously… Latest count I had notched up 5 of these beauties!).

Here we go, in no particular order, top number one! Made in gorgeously fun Jersey, because yes this pattern can be made in both woven and knit, amazing! I made the size 9-12M based on the chest measurement for my mini 14 month old girl and the fit is perfect on her. Which also brings me to the next thing I love about the LOL swing top, the size range, from newborn up to 12 years, this pattern is going to last.

20140726-125440-46480949.jpgOk here here it comes… 20140726-125441-46481285.jpgThat back, amazing isn’t it? The very on trend racer back teamed with all that swing makes it perfect for this hot weather right now (even here in England… Woo!). This version I made was with a contrast back yoke. The length is designed to come down the the hip, normally I would lengthen to take into account my long torso little lady, but it still works slightly shorter on her. The tutorial is beautifully illustrated and explains how to lengthen, as well as loads of other great tips and features, including printing select sizes, sewing bias and separate instructions for knit or woven.

20140726-125531-46531090.jpgThis next version I made from a lovely zebra jersey, brightened up with a pop of yellow for the ribbing. Love it! I’m also so happy to have an excuse to make Miss S her own clothes, as normally it’s hard to justify with all her sisters hand me downs, so glad I did though, she’s wearing one of these most days!

20140726-130019-46819534.jpgSo now it’s Evie’s turn, and my turn to make a woven version! Between sizes so I rounded up to 4T as suggested and I’m very happy, and also hoping she doesn’t grow too much and it can be worn next year too! I modified the pattern for this one by putting buttons onto both shoulders and using rounded button tabs! I have also made an unmodified one which I love, especially how it’s cleverly constructed, that back yoke is lined so the inside is neat and pretty… And my sewing OCD loves it. I used a really lightweight cotton lawn, and although not the easiest to sew with, works perfectly with this pattern. It was also about time I used it, when I bought it about 6 years ago, without a use planned, the lady in the shop told me to make sure it doesn’t just sit in a cupboard for years… Oops… But hey I’m glad I did now 🙂20140726-130118-46878735.jpgYes, I know, the swing photos are so very predictable, but my girls love it here so I know I can get some nice natural pics!20140726-130145-46905833.jpgMoving on before this post gets totally photo heavy, number 4! Back to knit, and this time I did a bit of colour blocking by using a contrast on the back and different colour ribbings. It’s fun and great for messing around and causing trouble with her little sister.20140726-130146-46906341.jpgNow let’s get one last pic of the two of you together in your lovely new LOL swing tops….20140726-130147-46907093.jpg…err great!

You can find the LOL swing top PDF pattern over at the Jennuine Designs shop (aff link). *Edit: use code LOLRelease for 20% discount until 7th August!* Make sure you follow the rest of the tester tour, so much more swinging cuteness to come!

20140728-132124-48084791.jpg
Big thanks to Jenn for giving me the chance to do something new and test this pattern, it has inspired me to finally take the first step into perhaps one day producing PDF sewing patterns of my own.

2 thoughts on “Pattern testing: LOL swing top

Leave a Reply

